The WriteReads Blog Tour Spotlight | The Legend of Black Jack | By A R Witham

 

 

Dear Bookbugs,

 

 

 

In today’s spotlight I would like to introduce you to the YA fantasy novel, The Legend of Black Jack by A R Witham. 

 

This spotlight is a part of TheWriteReads blog tour.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, before you start thinking, is this another one of the chosen one series, I feel like the synopsis would make you curious enough to know more about this. It sure got my attention. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s the synopsis of the book :

 

 

 

 

 

Prepare to be whisked away to another realm in this epic fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s characters in Stardust or Patrick Rothfuss’s prose in The Name of the Wind.

Jack Swift remembers everything—even the horrible things he’d like to forget. To keep his guilt-ridden memories from haunting him, and to dodge his abusive foster mom, he buries himself in any book he can find, dreaming of his ultimate escape: becoming a doctor.

But fate has another escape in mind.

At 3:33 am on his fourteenth birthday, Jack is kidnapped by a monstrous rhinoceros and whisked away to another sphere of existence: the land of Keymark. Though this world is filled with pixies, monsters, pirates, elves, warriors, and mythical wonders, it is without healing magic—that magic was stolen by an evil, immortal prince hell-bent on domination. With no understanding of medical science to heal their wounds or illnesses, Jack’s kidnappers ask the impossible of him: use his knowledge to save a life…or be trapped in this bizarre world with no chance of rescue.

Jack doesn’t have secret magic, a great destiny, or any medical experience.

Why do they all expect him to become a legend?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About the Author 

 

 

 

 

 

A R Witham is a three-time Emmy-winning writer-producer and a great lover of adventure.  He is the world’s foremost expert on the history of Keymark.  He loves to talk with young people and adults who remember what young people know.  He has written for film and television, canoed to the Arctic Circle, hiked the Appalachian Trail and been inside his house while it burned down.  He lives in Indianapolis.

 

 

 

 

 

I can’t remember the last time I read a fantasy novel where healing was a problem, especially the magical kind. Integrating that with medical science seems intriguing. I am very much interested in knowing how the book manages to bring all this together. 

 

 

 

Let me know if you are interested in reading The Legend of Black Jack too. If so, why?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Reading Everyone

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: