Four Weddings and a Christmas | By Philipa Ashley

 

 

 

 

 

 

Book Review | Contemporary Romance

Four Weddings and a Christmas
Publisher:
Published: November 9th, 2023

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis :

 

 

 

 

 

Can the spirit of Christmas reignite an old flame? With her thriving business Cottage Angels, Freya Bolton prepares the Lake District’s holiday homes for Christmas visitors. It’s her job to think of everything, from cinnamon-scented candles to tasteful decorations and hampers of seasonal treats. If only her love life were such a success… After being burned by past relationships, she’s now determined to steer clear of love for good. So when she bumps into gorgeous – and single – ex-boyfriend Travis, a no-strings festive fling seems perfect. But when her feelings for him begin to develop, is she on track for another romantic calamity? Or could this Christmas give her the gift of true love? This gorgeous Christmas romance from Sunday Times bestseller Phillipa Ashley will take you to the Lake District with a story of second chance love as heartwarming as a cup of mulled wine. Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Karen Swan and Heidi Swain.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My thoughts

 

 

 

Narrative and Plot

 

 

 

 

Four Weddings and a Christmas is literally what the title suggests it would be. There are four weddings and then a Christmas in the book. The story is told from Freya and Travis’s perspectives. Tired of being burned in love, Freya just wants to focus on her business when her ex-boyfriend comes back to town.

The story has some strong areas, but it lags somewhere in the middle. It picks up in the third act and creates a reasonable enough conflict that many second-chance romances often neglect. However, it was festive and entertaining to read during the holidays.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Characters and Conflicts

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Both Freya and Travis are individually strong characters. The story focuses on their personal life and their relationship with other characters rather than just the romance. However, the chemistry between Freya and Travis didn’t pull me in. Perhaps it was because they were second-guessing their relationship with each other for more than the first half of the book.

 

 

 

When there is so much history and heartbreak, it didn’t really encourage me as a reader to root for them to be together. However, the conflict in the third act felt realistic, and it was resolved reasonably too. The ensemble cast was strong in this one, particularly Seb.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Conclusion

 

 

 

 

 

Overall Four Weddings and a Christmas is an entertaining second chance holiday romance but it was a one-time read for me. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About the Author

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

Disclaimer :  I received an e-ARC of the book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You may also like...

Leave a Reply